-

The CSC Cuisson Sous-vide thermalization

Cooking is nothing other than exposing food to heat.

The more precisely we do this, the more accurate the results can be controlled.

The CSC Cuisson Sous-vide thermalization is a very gentle, easy way to cook vacuum-packed meat, poultry, fish and vegetables in the CSC Sous-vide bath. The cooking temperatures lie in general between 50-90 ° C. The CSC Cuisson Sous-vide thermalization takes the place of roasting and cooking, but avoids drying out, leaching and hardening. The products remain juicy and will intensify their natural color and flavor. Vital nutrients and vitamins remain. The cooking time is much longer than in conventional cooking and frying, however, it requires no supervision, as the CSC Sous-vide baths control the thermalization with high-precision within ± 0.2 ° C. As the temperature is not sufficient for browning, the meat is usually seared after the thermalization.

When we thermalize meat two reactions are crucial:

Starting at 50° C, the protein starts to coagulate, with raising temperature however previously bound water is increasingly released, which makes the meat dry and tough after all.
At 68 ° C, the collagen of the sturdy connective tissue turns into gelatin, through which meat (especially rich with connective tissue) will get tender.

In the traditional way of roasting meat in an oven with temperatures starting at 150 ° C and higher a big temperature difference arises from the outside to the inside. When the core of the meat finally reaches the ideal temperature, it has further out already been exceeded, which is indicated by increasing gray coloring, this is a sing for the complete coagulation of the protein. This is accompanied by increasing fluid loss starting from the inside out.
When thermalizing with the CSC Cuisson Sous-vide this temperature gradient is largely avoided therefore the size of the food and the exact cooking time play a much smaller role. The ideal temperature can never be exceeded; the liquid remains largely bound in the tissue. The for the themalization with CSC Cuisson Sous-vide necessary, long cooking time, ensures that the connective tissue can completely degrade into gelatin.

Method
The products are vacuum packed. All the air between film and product must be evacuated. Air is an insulator and would impede the transfer of heat and distort the result. In addition, aerobic bacteria are broadly eliminated when vacuuming with a high vacuum level, increasing the product safety. The cooking time depends on the nature and size of the food.

Although the cooking time can be handled generously, the temperature must be maintained very precisely. Temperature deviations of 0.5 ° C give noticeably different results. Thus to obtain more consistent results a highly precise temperature constancy is essential. After thermalization the food is quickly cooled down to <3° C and stored in the refrigerator or cold-storage room until the regeneration (Cook and Chill).

Cook and Chill
Is originally a term for a method used by caterers with which the immediate issue of food after cooking is given up, in contrast to the conventional hot kitchen, in which the food is served immediately after preparation or kept warm until consumption.

When using Cook and Chill the hot food components are immediately cooled down within 90 minutes after the thermalization to a core temperature of under 3° C. This is called fast chilling. The chilled food can be stored without loss of quality in continuous cooling of about 5-21 days. The cooled and stored food will be reheated to serving temperature just before service.This process is called "regeneration".

One of the advantages associated with Cook & Chill is also the hygienic safety, which is in accordance with the specifications of HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point), which came into effect in 1998. The proliferation of pathogenic bacteria and the formation of toxins is prevented by passing quickly through the hygienically dubious temperature of 10-40 ° C. This is mainly of crucial importance in hospitals and nursing homes because the immune system of many patients is weakened.

Cook and Chill was developed in the 1960s in the United States and came to Europe in the 1970s, where it was mainly in Sweden further developed. Starting from the mid-1980s the use of the different forms of Cook and Chill began to revolutionize catering worldwide. At first it was mainly used in hospitals and nursing homes to prepare meals for patients. Cook and Chill is becoming increasingly important for catering, banquet facilities in hotels and also in event catering.

Regeneration
Regeneration is normally done in the CSC Sous-vide bath. Also during the regeneration the temperature of the water plays a central role. Especially during the regeneration of to the point cooked products the core temperature reached during thermalization may not be exceeded, otherwise the product would continue to cook.

Value and perspective
With the thermalization we achieved a simplification of production processes and an optimization and repeatability of product quality in the kitchen. The benefits are impressive: The products remain juicy (minimal cooking losses), and intensify color and flavor. No drying out, no oxidation, no leaching. With the gentle thermalization important nutrients and vitamins remain in the products. Save time through production rearrangement in the kitchen. Even without adding fat and salt we can create tasty dishes. The new flavor facets enable new and exciting creations. Guarantees maximum flexibility in the service. By the efficiency of heat-transfer in water energy costs are reduced dramatically.

The thermalization has reached the world's top restaurants after the cantinas and soon will be standard in the wider gastronomy.
Since the most effective and economical heat-transfer takes place over the water and the temperature can be controlled much more accurately than through the medium of air, there is no real alternative to this procedure.

-

PROGRESS REPORT

THE GERMAN NATIONAL COOKING TEAM

Test and Progress Report regarding the VAC- STAR Sous-vide baths CSC / CSC-CT

Use:
Fast easy use and super-fast application.

Heating Rate:
The heating rate for 9 litres of water at between 5 - 10°C to a water temperature of 60°C is approximately 30 minutes.
Here it is preferable if the operator fills the bath with equally tempered water from a boiler.

(Comment by VAC-STAR AG:
 The suggestion regarding a 20% more powerful heating element was implemented immediately.)


Practical Experience:
Water temperature 60°C, approx. 20 litres. I placed a vacuum-packed (2-4°C) 5.4 kg saddle of lamb with herbs in the CSC 1/1 GN in the bain-marie.
The water temperature fell to 42°C and it took approx. 25 mins. until it regained its original temperature of 60°C.
Roasting time loss cannot be calculated in practice.
A faster heating rate would be necessary here in order to facilitate a larger number of portions, or a longer roasting time.
Maintained temperature:
The device holds the set temperature very well, and really only has a minimal 0.2°C divergence.
I carried out a variety of temperature measurements using the EBRO digital measuring instrument in parallel.
Constant measurement at the base, in the middle, and on the surface, at a water temperature of 54°C.
It is really astonishing that in all 3 zones, the set temperature of 54°C held steady.
With this optimum temperature setting, a perfect final result is certain.
Even in the case of larger pieces of meat or fish, a very steady cooking is guaranteed.
In my opinion, the main difficulty is that of attempting to cook in a liquid medium.
However, on the one hand, there is very good heat transference, whilst on the other hand, there are always difficulties in getting the desired temperature evenly around the product. Uneven cooking and irregular cooking times are thereby pre-programmed.
With the VAC-star, the parameters of heat transference and time are really perfect!!

CSC-CT Model
In my opinion, the developments in the CT are excellent for practical use.
A perfect result is also guaranteed here due to the exact and safeguarded temperature supervision in the cooking process. Long-term cooking times are shortened as a result. I have not yet attempted to use the programme controls but I aim to do this soon.

Practical Experience

Dover Sole – Lobster roulade : 30g in weight, wrapped twice in 13 my clingfilm.
 Dover Sole, Zander stuffing with cubed lobster, 52°C water temperature 18 mins. Cooking time.
Veal sweetbread centres: 50g in weight, cooked veal sweetbreads, Stuffed chicken, wrapped twice in 13 my clingfilm. Water temperature 62°C, 35 mins.
 Saddle of Venison with chicken stuffing : 600g in weight, wrapped twice in clingfilm, four times in aluminium foil. Water temperature 53°C, 1 hour 30 mins. 
Saddle of lamb with herbs: In a vacuum bag, 4.5 Kg in weight, water temperature 60°C 1 hour 10 mins. 
Buttered fillet of Salmon: 50g sc in weight, vacuum-packed, water temperature 51.5°C, 21 mins.

Matthias Kleber

Head of the German Nation Cooking Team

We would like to thank Matthias Kleber for the Practical Experience report.

Practical Experience reports provide us with a valuable source of information which assist us in the development and perfection of our high-precision unit.

VAC-STAR AG

-

 

 DAS CSC SOUS-VIDE THERMALISIEREN

Kochen ist nichts anderes als einem Lebensmittel Wärme zuzuführen.
Wie genauer wir dies tun, umso genauer lassen sich die Ergebnisse steuern.

Das CSC Sous-vide Thermalisieren ist eine besonders schonende und einfache Art, Fleisch, Geflügel, Fisch und Gemüse vakuum-verpackt im CSC Sous-vide Bad zu garen. Die Gartemperaturen liegt dabei in der Regel zwischen 50-85°C. Das CSC Sous-vide Thermalisieren tritt an Stelle des Bratens und Kochens, vermeidet aber das Austrocknen, Auslaugen und Zähwerden. Die Produkte bleiben saftig und erhalten ihre natürliche Farbe und intensivieren den Eigengeschmack. Lebenswichtige Nährstoffe und Vitamine bleiben erhalten. Die Garzeit ist wesentlich länger als bei konventionellem braten und kochen, es bedarf aber keiner Aufsicht, da die CSC Sous-vide Bäder das Thermalisieren hochpräzise auf ± 0,1 °C genau steuern. Da die Temperatur nicht für Bräunungsreaktionen ausreicht, erfolgt das Anbraten von Fleisch meist nach dem Thermalisieren.

Beim Thermalisieren von Fleisch sind zwei Reaktionen entscheidend:
Ab 50°C beginnt das Eiweiss zu gerinnen, wobei mit steigender Temperatur zunehmend vorher gebundenes Wasser frei wird, was das Fleisch schließlich trocken und hart macht.
Bei 68°C verwandelt sich das Collagen des festen Bindegewebes in Gelatine, wodurch (gerade bindegewebsreiches) Fleisch mürbe wird.

Beim üblichen Braten mit Ofentemperaturen von 150°C und höher entsteht ein starkes Temperaturgefälle von aussen nach innen. Hat der Kern des Fleischstücks die ideale Temperatur erreicht, wird sie weiter aussen bereits überschritten, was an zunehmender Graufärbung zu erkennen ist, die die vollständige Gerinnung des Eiweisses signalisiert. Damit einher geht ein von innen nach aussen ansteigender Flüssigkeitsverlust.
Beim CSC Sous-vide Thermalisieren wird dieses Temperaturgefälle weitestgehend vermieden, weshalb die Grösse des Garguts und die genaue Garzeit eine wesentlich geringere Rolle spielen. Die ideale Temperatur kann nirgends überschritten werden, die Flüssigkeit bleibt weitgehend im Gewebe gebunden. In der beim CSC Sous-vide Thermalisieren notwendigen, langen Garzeit kann das Bindegewebe vollständig zu Gelatine abgebaut werden.

Vorgehensweise
Die Produkte werden vakuum-verpakt. Zwischen Folie und Produkt darf sich keine Luft mehr befinden. Luft ist ein Isolator und würde die Wärmeübertragung behindern und das Ergebnis verfälschen. Ausserdem werden Aerobe Keime beim Vakuumieren durch einen hohen Vakuumwert weitgehend eliminiert, was die Produktesicherheit erhöht.
Die Garzeit hängt von der Beschaffenheit und Grösse des Gargutes ab.
Auch wenn die Garzeit grosszügig gehandhabt werden kann, muss die Temperatur sehr genau eingehalten werden. Temperaturabweichungen von 0,5°C ergeben schon merklich andere Ergebnisse. Um immer gleichbleibende Ergebnisse zu erhalten ist somit eine hochpräzise Temperaturkonstanz unabdingbar. Nach dem Thermalisieren wird das Gargut schnell auf 3 °C heruntergekühlt und im Kühlraum bis zur Regenerierung gelagert (Cook and Chill).

Cook and Chill
Zu deutsch „Kochen und Kühlen“, ist ursprünglich ein Fachbegriff für ein Verfahren der Gemeinschaftsverpflegung, bei dem auf eine unmittelbare Ausgabe der Speisen nach der Zubereitung verzichtet werden kann im Gegensatz zur herkömmlichen Warmverpflegung, bei der die Speisen nach der Zubereitung sofort serviert oder bis zum Verzehr warm gehalten werden.

Beim Verfahren des Cook and Chill werden die warmen Speisenkomponenten unmittelbar nach dem Thermalisieren innerhalb von 90 Minuten auf eine Kern- Temperatur von unter 3°C gekühlt. Man nennt dies Schnellkühlung. Die gekühlten Speisen können bei ununterbrochener Kühlung 5 bis 21 Tagen ohne Qualitätsverlust gelagert werden. Sie werden erst vor der Ausgabe wieder auf Verzehrstemperatur erwärmt. Dieser Prozess wird als "Regenerierung" bezeichnet.

Zu den Vorteilen des Cook & Chill-Systems zählt u.a. auch die damit verbundene hygienische Sicherheit nach den Vorgaben des 1998 in Kraft getretenen HACCP-Konzepts (Hazard Analysis of Critical Control Point). Die Vermehrung von pathogenen Keimen sowie die Bildung von Toxinen wird verhindert, indem der hygienisch bedenkliche Temperaturbereich zwischen 10 und 40°C schnell durchschritten wird. Dies ist vor allem im Bereich der Krankenhäuser und Altersheime von entscheidender Bedeutung, da das Immunsystem vieler Patienten geschwächt ist.

Cook and Chill wurde in den 1960er Jahren in den USA entwickelt und gelangte in den 1970er Jahren nach Europa, wo es vor allem in Schweden weiterentwickelt wurde. Ab Mitte der 1980er Jahre begann der Einsatz der verschiedenen Formen von Cook and Chill die Gemeinschaftsverpflegung weltweit zu revolutionieren.
Zunächst kam es vor allem in der Patientenverpflegung von Krankenhäusern und Altersheimen zum Einsatz. Cook and Chill gewinnt zunehmend auch in der Gastronomie, im Bankettbereich von Hotels sowie im Veranstaltungs-Catering an Boden.

Das Regenerieren
Das Regenerieren erfolgt in der Regel wieder im CSC Sous-vide Bad. Auch beim Regenerieren spielt die Wassertemperatur eine zentrale Rolle. Speziel beim Regenerieren von auf den Punkt gegarten Produkten darf die beim Thermalisieren erreichte Kerntemperatur nicht überschritten werden, da sonst das Produkt weiter garen würde.

Nutzen und Perspektive
Durch das Thermalisieren wir in der Küche bei einer Vereinfachung der Produktionsabläufe eine optimierung und Repetierbarkeit der Produktequalität erreicht. Die Vorteile sind bestechend: Die Produkte bleiben saftig (geringer Garverlust) und intensivieren Farbe und Aroma. Kein Austrocknen, keine Oxidation, kein Auslaugen. Durch das schonende Thermalisieren bleiben wichtige Nährstoffe und Vitamine erhalten. Zeitersparnis durch Produktions-Umlagerung in der Küche. Auch ohne Zugabe von Fettstoff und Salz entstehen schmackhafte Gerichte. Die neuen Geschmacksfacetten ermöglichen neue spannende Kreationen. Grösste Flexibilität im Service. Durch die Effizienz der Wärmeübertragung im Wasser werden Energiekosten massiv reduziert.

Das Thermalisieren hat nach der Gemeinschaftsverpflegung weltweit die Spitzengastronomie erreicht und wird bald auch Standard in der breiten Gastronomie werden.
Da die effektivste und wirtschaftlichste Wärmeübertragung über das Wasser stattfindet und sich die Temperatur sehr viel genauer als über das Medium Luft steuern läst, gibt es gegenüber diesem Verfahre keine wirkliche Alternative.

-

 

ERFAHRUNGSBERICHT

DER NATIONALMANNSCHAFT DER KÖCHE VON DEUTSCHLAND

Test und Erfahrungsbericht der VAC-STAR Sous-Vide Bäder CSC / CSC-CT

Bedienung:

Schnelle einfache Bedienung, super schnell anzuwenden.

Aufheizgeschwindigkeit:

Die Aufheizgeschwindigkeit liegt bei 9 Liter Wasser (5- 10°C) bis auf einer Wassertemperatur von 60°C bei ca. 30min.
Hier ist es vom Vorteil, wenn der Bediener gleich temperiertes Wasser aus dem Boiler einfüllt.

Praxis Erfahrung:

Wassertemperatur 60°C ca. 20 Liter, Ich habe im CSC 1/1 GN , dann 5,4 Kg Lammrücken mit Kräutern vakuumiert (2-4°C)  in das Wasserbad eingesetzt.
Die Wassertemperatur fiel auf 42°C und hat ca. 25 min gedauert, bis die 60°C wieder erreicht worden sind.

Hier wäre eine schnellere Aufheizgeschwindigkeit von Vorteil, um auch größere Mengen oder Portionen zu Garen.

(Kommentar von VAC-STAR:
Die Anregung wurde umgehend durch 20% leistungsstärkere Heizelemente umgesetzt.)

Haltetemperatur:

Das Gerät hält sehr, sehr gut die eingestellte Temperatur und hat wirklich nur 0,2°C Abweichungen.
Ich habe verschiedene Temperaturmessungen mit einen EBRO Digital Messgerät parallel durchgeführt.
Immer am Boden, in der Mitte und an der Oberfläche, bei 54°C Wassertemperatur.
Es ist wirklich erstaunlich, das in allen 3 Zonen die eingestellten 54°C konstant gehalten werden.
Durch diese optimale Temperaturhaltung, ist ein perfektes Endergebnis sicher.
Auch bei größeren Fleisch oder Fischstücken, ist eine sehr gleichmäßige Garung gegeben.
Aus meiner Sicht, ist das die Schwierigkeit des Garen im wässrigen Medium.
Auf einer Art, sehr gute Wärmeübertragung auf der anderen Seite gibt es aber immer Schwierigkeiten, die gewünschte Temperatur auch gleichmäßig um das Produkt zu bekommen. Dadurch sind immer ungleichmäßiges Garen und ungleichmäßige Garzeiten vorprogrammiert.
Bei dem VAC- Star sind die Parameter Wärmeübertragung und Zeit  wirklich optimal!!

CSC-CT Modell

Aus meiner Sicht, ist die Entwicklung mit dem CT sehr gut für die Praxis.
Durch die genaue Temperatur Überwachung im Gargut, ist auch hier ein optimales Ergebnis vorprogrammiert und abgesichert. Langzeit Garzeiten werden hierdurch verkürzt. Zu einem Versuch mit der Programmsteuerung bin ich noch nicht gekommen, werde ich aber demnächst durchführen.

Praxis Ergebnisse
Seezungen- Hummerroulade : 30g schwer, zweimal mit Klarsichtfolie 13 my eingeschlagen.
Seezunge, Zanderfarce mit Hummerwürfel 52°C Wassertemperatur 18min Garzeit.
Kalbsbriekern : 50g schwer, Kalbsbries gekocht, Hähnchenfarce, zweimal mit Klarsichtfolie 13 my eingeschlagen. Wassertemperatur 62°C 35 min.
Rehrücken mit Geflügelfarcen Füllung : 600g schwer, zweimal mit Klarsichtfolie, viermal mit Alu Folie eingeschlagen. Wassertemperatur 53°C 1h 30 min.
Lammrücken mit Kräutern : Im Vakuumbeutel 4,5 Kg schwer, Wassertemperatur 60°C 1h 10min
Lachsfilet gebuttert : 50g schwer, Vakuumiert, Wassertemperatur 51,5°C 21min

Matthias Kleber
Teamchef Nationalmannschaft der Köche von Deutschland

Wir danken Herrn Matthias Kleber für den Erfahrungsbericht.
Erfahrungsberichte sind für uns wertvolle Informationsquellen um unsere hochwertigen Präzisionsgeräte weiter zu optimieren.

Vac-Star AG